28th February Road
(near Independence Square)
Mon - Fri 8.00 - 17.00
Sat & Sun CLOSED


Ing. Joseph A. Nkrumah

Regional Chief Manager

Ing. Joseph A. Nkrumah joined Ghana Water Company Limited as a national service personnel in November 1984 from the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Kumasi, Ghana.  Ing. Nkrumah was confirmed in November 1986 and posted to the Planning and Development Department.

Ing. Nkrumah worked as a Planning Engineer, Project Manager, Head of ATMA Planning and Development Unit, Regional Engineer and Executive Assistant.  Ing. Nkrumah had attended a number of training programmes in United Kingdom, United States of America, The Netherlands and Dubai in Project Management, Operational Excellence, Water Supply Management, Contract Administration, Non-Revenue Water, Asset Management, Financial Management and Strategic Planning amongst others.

He holds post-graduate Diploma and Master of Science degree in Civil Engineering from University of East London, UK and Master of Business Administration (Finance) from University of Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK. Ing. Nkrumah, a Civil Engineer by Profession, is currently the Regional Chief Manager for Volta Region. He was once a rapporteur of African Water Association and had travelled extensively to most African Countries.


There are 7 operational districts, with 2 operational Sub-districts namely; Ho, Dayi, Kpando, Hohoe, Sogakope, Keta, Ketu, Jasikan and Juapong respectively.

Water Supply Systems

  • The region operates 28 Systems. These are:
  • 4 Headworks – Kpeve, Agordome, Hohoe and Juapong.
  • 1 Spring system – Tsito
  • 23 Mechanized Boreholes

Installed Capacities

The total installed capacity of 37,585m3 per day

Major Achievements and Milestones

  • Costly electro-mechanical breakdowns have been reduced by scheduling planned maintenance activities during power outages.
  • Reduction in the maintenance cost of vehicles by acquiring the needed logistics for jobs to be carried out in the region.
  • Replacement of 1 No highlift pump and the addition of 1 No lowlift pump at Kpeve Headworks.
  • Addition of 1 No borehole at Tsito to supplement the treatment plant.
  • Refurbishment of civil structures at Kpeve and Agordome Headworks.
  • Installation of surface pump at the Lowlift Pumping Station at Hohoe Headworks as a result of frequent breakdown of the submersible pumps. Downtimes have been reduced in the process.
  • Replacement of 2 No penstock valves at the filter station at Kpeve Headworks to stop excessive leakages during treatment.